The idea of rough-cut value management was introduced by the authors at the 1998 APICS International Conference held in Nashville, Tennessee, in November. This concept was to quantify the value of the demand that the business chooses to serve. The selection and value of that demand is measured against the business strategy. How would your business value its demand? Value could be found in the largest customers, which provide a high variable profit margin, or those customers with a total high gross profit margin are valued. Customers that are growing should be treated specially since there are good potentials for increasing value that can be generated from sales made to them. New strategic geographic customers are also valued. Customers that also buy from a subsidiary business would be valued. The list can grow—all customers have value. In this case, what criteria should be used in choosing which customers to serve? If there is a production shortfall, which customer's orders
will not be met or will be reduced? These are common problems that occur in all businesses.
Typically businesses want to meet all the customer demand. They also rank their customers according to the revenue generated from them. A typical distribution of customers' revenue and their ranking is shown in figure 2. In this figure, Customer A has the largest revenue and Customer J has the smallest revenue. Many businesses conclude that Customer A is their best customer.
In contrast, rough-cut value management uses a more refined approach. It defines a quantitative value measure for each customer. Basically, it is
•an integrated tool for extracting the most value from today's pro duction asset capability and for determining the value of additional capacity for the future expansions
•a tool to provide a "sanity check" for determination of most value- adding customers and product-mix
• a simple analysis for differentiating the top value-generating businesses from the bottom ones based on the criteria that the business chooses to define value so that proper differentiation is made in order not to lose value in the current offering. There are many criteria that can be used to determine the "value" generated from a customer. For this example, the following criteria have been selected:
•gross variable margin
•potential for growth.
Each of these important factors should be assigned a weight with the total being 1.00. This example assumed the percentage contribution of each factor in the total "value" to be net revenue 20 percent, gross margin 50 percent, variable margin 20 percent, and potential for growth 10 percent. For each customer the demand value would then be calculated as:
Need help in bringing this training to your company, may I
suggest that you forward this Web page to your leader. If you do,
we'll send you our Power-Point presentation, "7-Rules for Surviving in an Entirely New Economy."
To open the
"Forward to" form:
To stay current on Lean Management Basics and
Best Practices, subscribe to our weekly MBBP Bulletin... and we'll send you
presentation, "Introduction to Kaizen Based Lean Manufacturing™." All at no cost of course.
personal information will never
be disclosed to any third party.
what one of our 13,000 plus subscribers
wrote about the MBBP Newsletter:
"Great manufacturing articles. Thanks for the insights. I often share portions of your articles
with my staff and they too enjoy them and fine aspects where they can
integrate points into their individual areas of responsibilities. Thanks
Kerry B. Stephenson. President. KALCO
to Basics" Training for anyone ... anywhere ... anytime
6003 Dassia Way, Oceanside, CA 92056
West Coast: 760-945-5596